A Reading Challenge for 2016 !

This year, 2015, saw me at my absolute worst when it came to reading. I can come up with a lot of excuses for the poor show but in my heart I know that if I really wanted to read more, I could have. Once upon a time I would have carved time out from the busiest schedule to read. So no more excuses, only solutions to correct myself. I chanced upon this wonderful Reading Challenge which seems to be fun without having the pressure to finish tons of books within a short period of time. Girlxoxo is hosting the 2016 Monthly Motif Reading Challenge. There’s a theme for every month and I particularly loved the one for August which is to read from a genre outside our comfort zone, something we normally wouldn’t read. This means that I’ll explore more and make myself read from a wide variety of topics. I’m looking forward with much anticipation to 2016, hoping I can do justice to the Challenge. Here are the various themes for the different months.

monthly-motif-sign-up

The Motifs

JANUARY- Who Dunnit?
Crack the case and solve the mystery with your first book of the year.

FEBRUARY- New Releases
Read a book released in the last year.

MARCH- Take a Trip
Time Travel or read a book set in a country different than where you live

APRIL- Best of the Best
Read a book that has won recognition or a literary award

MAY- Story of Survival
Make it out alive, beat the odds, save yourself stories. Try thinking beyond the typical wilderness survival. Surviving high school? Surviving a family road trip? Yep- those count too! PS. Dystopians would work great in this motif too.

JUNE- Girlxoxo Recommends
We’ve read a lot of great books. Check out our archives and pick one of our recommendations off our book lists.

JULY- LOL
Hilarious memoirs, silly chick lit, comedic scifi. Pick a book that is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud.

AUGUST- Genre Jumble
Read from a genre that you don’t normally read from

SEPTEMBER- Steampunk, Science Fiction, and Fantasy
Pretty self explanatory and loads of great books to pick from in this motif.

OCTOBER- Things That Go Bump in The Night
Cozy mystery ghost stories, paranormal creeptastic, murder mystery- it’s up to you!

NOVEMBER- Fiction Takes A Break
It’s all about Nonfiction November this month!

DEC- That’s a Wrap
Finish a series you’ve been meaning to finish or read the next book in a series you started but never finished.

13 thoughts on “A Reading Challenge for 2016 !

  1. Visiting from girlxoxo. I am so excited for this reading challenge…I donʻt normally do reading challenges, but I thought it might be fun to do something new in 2016 and this seemed like the perfect challenge to try. I canʻt wait to see what you read! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

