G for Goddess

GI am the Goddess. You can call me Kali, Durga or Shakti. Eons ago I killed the asuras* and drank their blood. Today, I killed the demons lying before me. I sliced and slashed until I was soaked in their blood. Their dying screams for mercy went unheard. When I perform the dance of death no words can stop me.

Did they deserve any mercy ? They didnt show any compassion while mauling and destroying their victims. I took their lives while reciting the long litany of crimes they had committed against my sisters and daughters. I stood among the crowd who had come to gawk at the scene of bloodshed. Nobody noticed me. Nobody noticed the gleam of triumph in my eyes. I’ll go back home to my books and thoughts, a lonely existence ,until I hear the cry of the next victim.

I am the Goddess. You can call me Kali, Durga or Shakti.

*demons in Indian mythology

(This is part of the A to Z challenge, where the participants have to blog every day in April, excepting Sundays. The titles of the posts should start with different letters of the alphabet, starting with A on April 1st and moving on sequentially. The theme I’ve selected is Stories. Just hope I can keep up with the ‘march of the alphabets’)

 

2 thoughts on “G for Goddess

Leave a Reply

