D for Dawn

D

DAWN

 

I dreamed about my wife and sons. They were laughing and their faces looked beautiful in the mellow sunlight. They stood by the brook that ran behind my house. Strangely it didn’t feel like a dream. I could smell the fragrance of the freshly mown grass, see the clothes on the line flapping madly in the wind and feel the warmth of love. My wife swung my younger son up into the air and peals of laughter burst forth from him sending echoes of joy through me.

I couldn’t take my eyes off my wife who seemed to be glowing from within. She was more than a just my partner, she was my life. I only had to form a thought to see it reflected on her face. Suddenly she looked beyond me at someone I couldn’t see and with a cry of horror gathered the children into her arms. The look on her face was heart rending.

I woke up covered in sweat. Striding to the corner of the cell I gulped down the tepid water, which had been left there the previous day. I sat back on the bed and leaned against the wall. I had been plagued by the same dream for the past couple of nights and each time I woke up with a feeling of helplessness. But when the escaped convict had tried to attack my wife, I had not been helpless. I beat him to death using the hammer with which I was making a rocking chair for her.

This night would come to an end. Dawn with its rosy hues would herald my execution. I felt a great sorrow wash over me. What would happen to her? How would she manage with two small children? Who would help her? The chirping of birds signaled that my end was near. I looked out through the bars of the cell and watched the darkness of the night being dispelled by the pearly whispers of dawn. This sight soothed me and brought a sense of solace to my distraught mind. The darkness could not persist. There would always be a dawn to banish the night. My wife was strong. She would win this battle. She would also have a dawn to lighten the darkness in her life. There would be a dawn. There was always a dawn.

(This is part of the A to Z challenge, where the participants have to blog every day in April, excepting Sundays. The titles of the posts should start with different letters of the alphabet, starting with A on April 1st and moving on sequentially. The theme I’ve selected is Stories. Just hope I can keep up with the ‘march of the alphabets’ )

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “D for Dawn

  1. It is good that he had that dream of his wife and son on the last night of his life. I am sure she will be strong to carry on, but will always miss him.

    betty

    Like

    1. Yeah Betty, the wife is strong and she has become stronger because she has known true love. That to me is a defining factor in a person’s life. To know that somebody loved you truly and deeply makes one more confident of oneself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

