My Favourites (Guest Post)

(This is a guest post by my 14-going-on-45 yr old daughter, M. Both of us share an immense love of books and a whacky sense of humour.)

When my mom asked me to write a post for her, I was shocked that she was ready to feature me in her blog, and have my voice heard. This got delayed because of various reasons whose core cause was ‘me’ of course. Anyway, since this is a book blog I thought, “Obviously it has to be about books!” So here is a review/list of my all time favorite books. It’s a first time effort, so dear readers please bear with me ☺

Buddha Series by Osamu Tezuka –

The saga of the great illustrious Buddha in manga with a number of new characters is beautiful. Mr. Tezuka has woven the story so beautifully that I still feel sad after I read the last book. Mr. Tezuka’s version is easy to read, as it is illustrated and not completely serious. There are instances from the present intertwined within the story. It is not only Buddha’s story but it is also the story of many key characters that merge to form a magical atmosphere. It is my favorite series of books.

The Yelena Zaltana series by Maria. V. Snyder

MARIA_YELENA

The journey of a young woman, Yelena, who considered herself an orphan and discovers her magical powers in an anti-magician place. She learns to detect and identify poisons. She then not only discovers her magical powers but also her long-lost family. She starts training, learning different things about her tribe, studying about her family etc. Circumstances reveal her true power and help her fight the evil magicians. This series is different, as it has refreshing new concepts on magic and magicians.

Dork Diaries series by Rachel Renée Russell

Dork Diaries

The hilarious escapades of Nikki Maxwell are fun to read. Her dilemmas and how she solves it are beautifully written. Written for preteens, people older will also be laughing their heads off. I like the illustrations sprinkled around in the stories. All the emotions, problems etc are relatable .You will love her friends and her crush Brandon. It is around them that the whole story revolves. These are real stress busting books for me.

The Secret Countess by Eva Ibbotson

P-M-B-9780230014862

It is the story of a Russian countess, Anna. The first World War and the February Revolution saw her family ruined and her father killed. She goes to England to find work. She finds work at a family estate called Mersham, where she meets the owner, the young Earl Rupert. Through time she loves everyone there, and everyone likes her. After many deceitful, malicious and warm incidents Anna and Rupert fall in love. A very beautiful and lilting love story.

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown

davinci-code-1

A beautifully written book. I love how the story unravels. The intrigue, mystery and betrayal at every turn adds to its charm. I like the fascinating process of how each clue is solved and what their answers are. Well, this is short as I literally don’t have any more words to praise this book.

Diary of a young girl by Anne Frank

519HKX9M69L

The first time I read this book I was 12 years old and I thought it was plain boring. Then I learnt about Nazism at school. I read this book once again, with a completely different perspective. I started understanding her problems. It is the portrayal of the problems and angst of a teenager even when her whole world was crumbling around her. I could totally relate to her problems on teenage issues but the shadow cast by the cruelty of the Nazis was heart breaking. How could humans be so inhuman? An eye-opening book, which has become very close to my heart.

17 thoughts on “My Favourites (Guest Post)

  1. Thank you, M. My almost 14 year old daughter will be the beneficiary of your reviews — esp. the manga! I’m always looking for new books to tempt her with. Have you read “The Maze Runner” trilogy by James Dashner?

    Like

      1. My daughter J. is reading it right now and she seems to like it but not love it. She can’t really articulate why. All the “adults” who’ve reviewed it compared it to “The Hunger Games” so I thought it would be right up her alley. I’m going to read it when she’s finished and see what’s what. Def. plan to get her the manga series you like. 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi, great selection of books Megha. Avantika too has read a few of them like the Dork Diaries and other titles by Eva Ibbotson. She also a lot into graphic novels now.

    Like

  3. Fellow 14 year old here. 😉 Love the books you’ve chosen – The Da Vinci code was absolutely mind-blowing, and anything by Eva Ibbotson is lovely of course! I’ll have to check out the Buddha series, though… never heard of that one!

    Like

  4. I read one of the Dork Diaries books for the Children’s Literature class I took recently. It was really fun and cute, even if some parts were unrealistic. I’d actually read more of them, even though I’m at least 20 years older than their average reader.

    Like

    1. I agree with you about the Dork series being for all ages. I’ve caught my mom chuckling away after reading parts of it ! I feel that a lot of books for Young Adults nowadays can also be enjoyed by adults.
      M

      Like

Leave a Reply

